6 comments on “Language and Diabetes

  1. Good point about brittle. Maybe that needs a name change for those who do experience it as well.
    Not distinguishing type of diabetes irks me too and is the main focus of my ranting track record toward Jamie Oliver and other celebrities/media outlets!
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Bad and good blood sugar always irritates me, although I am a hypocrite and will say it about my own when I cant be bothered to explain whether Im high or low and why….I know if I say ‘Good’ people leave me alone and if I say ‘bad’ people are too afraid to ask further.

  3. Back in the 1970’s when I was diagnosed, most of us were labelled “brittle.” There was no T1/T2 terminology then. I think many older doctors still use that term although I haven’t heard it in a long time. it’s definitely in some of my older medical records.

  4. Yes, I never understood the term brittle. At some point we are all dealing with frustrating blood sugars that take us on the roller coaster ride so there is really no need for the term because it’s just diabetes in general!

  5. yes! good one, i hadn’t heard in a while so i forgot- but “brittle”. who even came up with that one? it does sound frail, and breakable. i’m glad i haven’t heard anyone use that term lately.

Leave a Reply

